As I stood there ……

Mecca Masjid

Mecca Masjid

As I stood there in the compound of the Mecca Masjid, I reminisced the last 4 years I have been in Hyderabad.

I still remember clearly stepping out of the Begumpet Airport, filled with dreams and visions of the blaze of glory I will leave behind me in every thing I will do in my professional career.

Once out of the airport, the first words that came out of my mouth were, “This is so like Lucknow, so like Home”. I come from a small city called Unnao, and Lucknow being the place where I did my engineering from and where my relatives stay has always been home to me.

Being from a small city I can never get used to the hustle bustle that big cities like Delhi and Mumbai have to offer. But, I never felt out of place in Hyderabad. The markets, the roads, and above all the people always made me feel at home. And nothing comes closer to my heart than the old city.

Bylane in Old City

Bylane in Old City

This part of the metropolis with its old world charm, narrow lanes and narrower bylanes, old time ambiance and with its people always made me feel as if I had stepped back in time to an era long gone and forgotten. Some people say that this part of the city is not safe, and some may never set their feet here or venture out alone, but to me this place denotes what we have forgotten in our race to become a modern, growing economy.

I have visited the old city many times, mostly just on a whim to be here, and have always returned at peace with myself and my surroundings. But today, as I stood there, I was not filled with peace, but with the sadness. I never thought I would feel what I felt then — the feeling of going away, of leaving home, and of not knowing when (if ever) I will come back.

Charminar in full glory

Charminar in full glory

I know that when I decided to move to Bangalore it was a conscious choice, and I had the option of staying back here. And yet I decided to move out of here for personal and professional reasons. But I also know that when I leave this city, I will leave a part of me behind — roaming aimlessly in the bylanes of the old city like I do now. I just hope that someday I get a chance to come back and meet him — and maybe listen to his experiences and tales over a cup of hot, steaming Irani chai and a serving of Hyderabadi Biryani.

This is Hashir, signing off

Hasta la vista — my beloved city, my home.

P.S. – There is a legend about the stone benches in the compound of the Mecca Masjid which states that anyone who sits on them will always come back to Hyderabad. I never believed in this legend until today, and so I sat there for some time. Lets see if it is true……..

P.P.S. – The above images are my own. If anyone would like to reproduce the images, please contact me.

31 Responses

  1. Beautifully penned with intense emotions and life’s journey!

  2. oh mannn !!! it made me emotional as well.. yess .. the hyd city itself is like thattt….I Too had the similar feeling of coming to home when
    (i) I came here .. &
    (ii) when I relocated here from chennai After 2 years of my stay there !!
    this city itself has so many memories.. of meeting so many friends.. on the top of that.. meeting you all !!!
    now when I read the blog It just reminds me that.. once I will come back…there won’t be any Hashir to give me Mota life threats.. ! , any savita whose roomtaes I will be flirting ,,, , Vatsal whose choice of restaurants & strong and valid points on his views won’t be there , 😦 .. πŸ˜₯

    but I also feel that still there would abhi , there Woy=uld be hyd biryani , there would be Irani chai combo , Paradise ,Eat street , hussain sagar … etc..

    I would just say all the best dude !!! and at the same time happy to see you back on blogger platform !!! πŸ™‚
    c U have not lost the touch and u can still move number of hearts .. all the best for your future stint..

    My heart says we all will again have a blogger meet in HYDERABAD only !! πŸ™‚

    • The feeling I have right now is of going away… lets hope I get a chance to come home soon πŸ™‚

      And don’t worry, I will still issue life threats to you mate… virtually if I have to. For the flirting part though, contact Savi. And maybe Vatsal will write a few posts about the places to eat in Hyderabad πŸ˜‰

      Come back, and we will plan a meet here for sure πŸ˜€

  3. the last photo is awesome !! iss it of the time when shafat bhai came to our blogger’s meet ??

  4. very emotional nd touchy post…

    HYD..memory…leaving hyd..sadness…

    have gone thru ths phase last year 12th June..nd i can really connct wid all the words here as was feeling d same that day…

    i dnt knw where again i will b visiting hyd..bt one thing is for sure…hyd will be alwayz close to my heart…d dream phase spent there… πŸ™‚

    wish u good luckk for the future..nd when u calling it ur ‘home’ m sure its gonna miss u d same way …

    hyd rocks.. πŸ™‚

  5. nice words dhost !!!

  6. The photo of Charminar in full glory pic is a good pic… btw did it get shaky?!

  7. a nice post dude!

    you brought back my memories of hyderabad as well!

    I heard of you moving to b’lore. Hope you’ll enjoy the new culture and the difference, as well, until you write another post on b’lore like this πŸ™‚ .

    Sometimes, we start to love an environment much, only when we know we are going to leave that πŸ™‚

    • Thanks buddy!! And good to see you back :).
      Waise I always loved the environment, but never realized that am going to miss it so much

  8. This is just Awesome!!!!!!! I’d rank this as ‘Post of the Year 2010’ without blinking my eyes….

  9. Hyderabad has seen me as a kid to a collegian to a working woman…. When I had to leave Hyd, it was heart-wrenching!

  10. awesomee….i have never been to lucknow but i do love old city !!

    My aunts lived there for nearly 50 years out of which 18 years i had the pleasure to visit them once a month !!

    we went to those nearby theatres which played Khiladi (AKshay Kumar + Ayesha Jhulka +deepak Tijori ) flick while the Kaho na pyar hai era had begun!!

    I wish you come back to the city and we all get a chance to meet again!!

    πŸ™‚

    • any time you want to visit lucknow, give me a call πŸ™‚

      you will find it quite similar to Hyderabad… I guarantee that

  11. I have similar photos πŸ™‚ of charminar

  12. πŸ™‚ sure

Leave a Reply

