A tradition called FIFA world cup!

It all started 4 years ago. The FIFA 2006 world cup. I had just graduated and moved to Bangalore for my first job.

And while I have never been a soccer fan, the world cup happened to bring a leap-year tradition into my life. Though I did not even know which teams were playing and which weren’t, somehow it didn’t stop me from staying up late  to follow the outcomes.

I owe my interest in the soccer world cup to 2 of my friends, hard-core soccer fans. I was staying alone that time and their efforts at getting me interested in soccer really helped kill the loneliness.

It also brought out a fierce competitive spirit in me. As I watched Materazzi provoke my favourite player who retaliated in kind, using only his head ( or not using it :)), I knew that the moment would stay with me a while.

The next day,though the newspapers showed no mercy in replaying the outcome of the most-crucial game and the repeated telecast of Zidane head-butting Materazzi, I knew something in me had awakened. A cry for justice. I felt for Zidane, I felt for his team. I felt that 2006 cup should have gone to France. And yet, I knew I had to wait for 4 long yrs to see more soccer action.

And I waited, and I unleashed myself against anyone who dared to ridicule my team. Only this time, my team was Germany. Looks like France crumbled under the pressure of fulfilling Zidane’s dream.

And it started…thanks to the now-freely-available electronic media: Facebook, Twitter, Gtalk, SMSes…and what not! I started campaigning against all other campaigns.

Things got rough here and there, and I loved every moment of it. Loved all the arguments, the bets, the big talks. In the end, Germany only finished 3rd, yet I felt proud and satisfied.

The 2010 world cup was in its prime form. All the big shots came tumbling down, and new stars were born. Critics ate all their words as the Octopus ate his mussels.

And now I feel an unexplainable void. No more looking up dates and schedules. No more planning my work so that I get to watch every match. No more practising staying up late so that I can do exactly that on match days. No more comments on teams and outcomes. No more bets. No more Octopus predictions.

The 2010 FIFA World Cup was perfect! It helped me express my angst; made me fight for a team; made me interested in a sport I had always ignored.

I hope I can say more about the 2014 world cup.

My life was different in 2006, is different now and will be different 4 years later. What is exciting is that there is something you can hold on to through all these changes.

Cheers to FIFA!

6 Responses

  1. Finally.. nice to see you in MOTA after a short hiatus !!!

  2. hey Anne.. welcome back.. great way to ‘Kick in” after a loong break.. great to hear that you enjoyed probably the most controversial world-cup till now.. I was amazed that the biggest star of this event was an Octopus and finally FIFA agreed that they’d use technology going forward!!

    Happy Blogging!!!

  3. 🙂

    Nice.. I really liked your spirit !!

    By the way did your campaigning help?

    • @Divenita, the campaigning surely got more FIFA followers, but most of them ended up rooting for the opposite team 😛 I enjoyed every bit of their opposition 🙂

  4. hey .. how true yaar… football was almost my life for all worldcup days…!!! I rooted for GERMANY too… n i really wanted them to win this time arnd…was so disappointed when they didnt…!!! But as you said i am happy for their third place if not at the top… Octopus was indeed bang on each time!!! The real star of WC 2010…!!!
    i almost suffered 2 days of sheer sadness after german defeat!!! :(:(:(

    but now.. allz well.. esp after Mueller gettin the golden boot its more than well!!!

    I too hav penned down a post on football Wcup…would be glad to have ur feedback…

    http://verne10.wordpress.com/2010/07/08/germany-u-disappointed-me/

  5. Nice to see you back here Anne……. And good to know that you are an avid follower of the game……. Cool!!!

Leave a Reply

